July 31, 2015

Faculty and Staff News

Brenda Hosley is the new university senate president and chair of the University Academic Council for the 2015-2016 academic year. Hosley is a clinical associate professor in the College of Nursing and Health Innovation.

Professor of English Deborah Clarke has been appointed vice provost for academic personnel at Arizona State University. Clarke will oversee personnel processes for all academic personnel, including hiring, promotion and tenure, effective Aug. 1.

For his lasting contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats, the American Society of Mammalogists has given the Aldo Leopold Award to Arizona State University professor Andrew Smith.

Randolph Nesse, founding director of ASU's Center for Evolution and Medicine, has been honored for his lifelong contributions to research in the field of evolutionary medicine.

After 51 years with ASU Libraries, Carl Cross will retire this August. He leaves behind a legacy that includes establishing the university archives and co-founding the ASU Carillon Society, where he has become a watchful guardian of the carillon bells.

ASU professor Claire Lauer guides her students to become confident creators of multimedia communications for work and everyday life.

Helping deaf students feel more welcome at ASU can be a challenge when most faculty and staff don't know sign language. A series of beginner ASL workshops aims to teach basic phrases and etiquette, with the ultimate goal of a deeper understanding of deaf culture.

The Green Devils are striving to empower over 1,000 of their colleagues to incorporate sustainability into everyday workplace decisions through peer-to-peer education, support and collaboration.

Elizabeth Wentz, professor of Geographic Information Science technologies and director of the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, has been appointed dean of social sciences in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Arizona State University.

History professor Monica Green and art history professor Corine Schleif share the honor of being the first two Berlin Prize Fellows chosen from Arizona State University.

Eric Newton, who was named the Cronkite School's new innovation chief last month, starts his new job this week where he will work closely with the school's leadership to drive cutting-edge ideas and initiatives at Cronkite News.

In a new book, ASU professor Brooks Simpson shares space with politicians and filmmakers who crafted essays about the importance and legacy of Abraham Lincoln's famous Gettysburg Address.

A threatened desert oasis captivates generations of ASU researchers in Cuatro Ciénegas, Mexico.

Four Arizona State University professors have joined the ranks of the highest faculty honor at the university, as Regents' Professors for the 2014-2015 academic year.

In her new book, "Contested Terrain: Reflections with Afghan Women Leaders," Arizona State University Regents' Professor Sally Kitch seeks to shed light on the role Western intervention has played in the fate of Afghan women.

Eric Newton, a global leader in championing transformational digital innovation in the news media as an executive of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, is joining ASU as the innovation chief of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The Arizona State University Police Department is pursuing the continuous improvement critical for the success of the organization and the school, said its top officer during a swearing-in ceremony in the Tempe campus police headquarters.

For her work publishing in leading research journals, presenting research at professional meetings, mentoring students and participating in the strings community, Marg Schmidt has received two prestigious awards this year.

Arizona State University student Jakob Hansen and ASU professor Horst Thieme have received Charles Wexler awards for their excellence in mathematics.

Patrick Foster brings 22 years of streetwise law enforcement experience when he is sworn in May 21 as Arizona State University's newest assistant police chief.

Barry Bozeman was the first in his family to go to college. Today, he is one of the nation's leading scholars in public administration in the School of Public Affairs, part of ASU's College of Public Service and Community Solutions.

Professor Ariel Anbar's pioneering research – especially about the chemical evolution of the environment – and innovative efforts in online education have garnered him the 2015 CLAS Difference Maker award.

ASU professor emeritus Sharon Crowley has received the 2015 CCCC Exemplar Award, a national lifetime-achievement honor from the Conference on College Composition and Communication, an arm of the National Council of Teachers of English.

The Arizona State University Graduate and Professional Student Association has awarded Wendi Simonson, a School of Life Sciences graduate program coordinator, with the Annette Jecker Outstanding Staff award.

Outstanding accomplishments in engineering have earned Arizona State University professors Daniel Bliss and Yong-Hang Zhang honored status in one of the world's most prominent professional organizations.

At the end of the academic year, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences honors and recognizes its faculty for quality teaching.

All Arizona State University full- and part-time faculty and staff are invited to attend one of the upcoming 2015 Employee Recognition Celebrations, which will be held on all four ASU campuses in May.

A former international student himself, Holly Singh was recently named director of the International Students and Scholars Center at ASU.

The Sun Devil Campus Stores will be hosting a one-day sale exclusively for ASU employees on April 30.

A National Science Foundation CAREER Award will help an ASU mechanical engineer expand his work on developing "shape-memory" metal alloys.